The Boat Trip, part 1

I’m going. I’m leaving my comfortable, secure, left corner couch cushion and going on a boat tour today – I leave in 10 minutes. Boat begins boarding at 10:15am.

I don’t want to go – you know that. But this is an event offered through our  community activities, and when it was first publicized last month, I was so excited – I signed up and paid. We’re going along the Edison River, and we will hear about the ecology and the history of the area. Sounds great, right? So right now, I’m wanting to want to go (does that even make sense?).

I don’t know any of the other 10 or so signed up. Unless Kathy is the same Kathy I’ve met around the neighborhood a few times. She’s nice – a potential friend, maybe.

But I digress. I am going alone. I’m going to have to smile and make chit-chat, and then really concentrate to hear and understand our tour guide. My concentration is pretty sparse right now – very hard to stay focused.

I’m psyching myself up:  planning to take some pictures – that should be fun. Maybe God has someone on this adventure who I’m supposed to meet. It looks like a lovely day – the rain is to the north right now, so maybe it will all be good.

And I’ll come home, take a nap, and curl up on the couch to finish this entry with The Boat Trip, part 2.

Wish me luck! Or better yet – pray for me!

3 thoughts on “The Boat Trip, part 1

  1. Carol July 31, 2015 / 10:32 am

    Glad you are going. I know it is hard. Keep at it, Peg. You like nature and beauty, so taking the photos is a great idea. You did the hard part….leaving the couch. Well, one of the hard parts…but it is the first step. I’m proud of you going! I hope, and pray, in some part, you can enjoy it. And maybe, you are meant to be on the trip for a special reason like meeting a new friend! Love and miss you. Anyone would be blessed to have YOU as a new friend.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. DeniseBalog July 31, 2015 / 10:22 am

    I read a quote (which I continue to search for as I recently read!!) Anyway, it said something about “writers need to travel out of their comfort space to open up fresh writing opportunities” paraphrasing. It caught my ear, cause I have found this to be true… Even through the “aches and often discomfort” of beds, planes and yes, even the company:) Write on…may you be blessed with fresh waters and flow:) denise

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kbailey374 July 31, 2015 / 10:00 am

    Proud of you! and you know what? This is your trip – so you don’t even have to listen lol

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

