Depression’s lies, part 2

The depression lies have been really loud these past few days.

Right now, depression is saying:

  • I’m unimportant.
  • I’m invisible.
  • I’m forgotten.


But Truth Says
:

I am important – so much so that Christ died for me.

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us. (Romans 5:8)

I am not invisible – God sees me. (El Roi – the God who sees)

Thereafter, Hagar used another name to refer to the Lord, who had spoken to her. She said, “You are the God who sees me.”[Hebrew: El-roi] She also said, “Have I truly seen the One who sees me?” So that well was named Beer-lahai-roi (which means “well of the Living One who sees me”). It can still be found between Kadesh and Bered. (Genesis 16:13-14)

I am not forgotten – I am engraved in the palms of His hands.

Yet Jerusalem[Hebrew: Zion] says, “The Lord has deserted us; the Lord has forgotten us.”  “Never! Can a mother forget her nursing child? Can she feel no love for the child she has borne.  But even if that were possible, I would not forget you!  See, I have written your name on the palms of my hands.”  (Isaiah 49:14-16a)

So how to make the truth louder than the lies? Sometimes depression’s voices can drown out the truth. I need to remind myself constantly to see me how God sees me – through Jesus’ sacrifice.

Still working through grief and loneliness. And those things just take time.

5 thoughts on “Depression’s lies, part 2

  1. kbailey374 August 26, 2015 / 8:08 am

    Love you Peggy! These are very important truths from the Bible that we forget when we’re depressed!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Phyllis August 25, 2015 / 6:01 pm

    All I can say is my heart hurts for you, and hurray that you know Gods truth, even tho the lies may be whispering (even shouting) in your ears.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

