A New Job

I’m starting a new job. I won’t go into the details of the position now, but will say that there is lots of training required before I get going. I mean lots!

  • 3 5-hour sessions of basic training in the skills the job entails.
  • 10 hours of video examples of the different procedures.
  • 10 hours of direct observation.
  • Training manuals to read.
  • Procedures to practice.

My brain hasn’t worked this hard in more than 10 years, probably since the last time I had a new job. But even that was just some training, and the rest learned on-the-job.

It feels good to work my brain like this. To stretch and absorb, to listen and assimilate. I admit it’s exhausting too – so much to take in. Not just the individual procedures, but coding too. I’ve never needed that for a job before. It’s a long list of abbreviations!

One of the trainers encouraged us to “marinate” in all the materials they were presenting. Such a good description, as I feel like I’m floating in procedures and words and codes and processes and scenarios. It’s hard not to think about it constantly, as it runs around my brain and I try to put structure to it.

Thank goodness there was a holiday over the weekend so that I had time to start putting the pieces together in my mind. One more evening of training on a new program, and then I start observing in person to see the flow, watch it come together and start to make practical sense.

I admit that there have been many times over these past few days that I tell myself I can’t do this. I won’t remember everything, I’ll work too slowly. I’ll screw up. The negative talk in my head is loud and clear. My inadequacies are glaring up at me from the marinade.

And that is all probably true. But I’m not being asked to be perfect. I have help, as others are watching and guiding once I get started. And I will make mistakes and nothing will be earth-shattering. It will be correctable. I need to be well-informed and practiced, and I’ll get better as I go. So now I need to ignore those voices of doubt and replace them with louder voices of confidence and encouragement. I am not alone – Christ is with me and will help me! I can do all this through him who gives me strength (Philippians 4:13, NIV).

 

 

10 thoughts on “A New Job

  1. Julie July 10, 2016 / 1:03 pm

    Yes you can! Congratulations.

    Like

  2. hlhivy July 7, 2016 / 9:44 pm

    Great attitude! I’m excited for you.

    Like

  3. Andrea Hensher July 7, 2016 / 8:40 am

    You know you can do this. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jane Kelly July 6, 2016 / 11:48 am

    Covering you in prayer! You can do it Peg! Very proud of you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

