About Me, part two

I started blogging in January 2015 as a way to put some of my journal thoughts and advice on paper, or rather, on a blog. I want to share my journey, what I’ve learned about being a Christian who struggles with depression. I want to learn to write for an audience.  I want to see if my words can make a difference for someone, if I can offer encouragement. Writing for someone else helps me get the thoughts from bouncing around in my brain, or scattered all over a journal entry, into a form that (hopefully!) makes sense to readers.

One of my favorite things about blogging on Wordpress is the classes they offer. I’ve taken several: to learn to blog better, to add photography, to try poetic forms, to develop a habit of writing daily, to learn about HTML and formatting this space.

As I continue blogging, I’m learning to find my voice, and to lighten up my writing style. I don’t want my entries to be heavy, or dark, or too long. While the topic of my blog is dark and lonely, I want to write about depression with hope. The hope that I have is in the knowledge that Jesus has never left me alone in the depression journey.

I’m also learning about what Blogging Community is – I have some favorite bloggers, but this process strongly encourages me to find new ones. That is one of my favorite parts of this whole blogging world – reading different perspectives, different topics, different writing styles, discovering others’ talents. So let the blogging begin (again)!

And thanks for reading and commenting.

11 thoughts on “About Me, part two

  1. dawnlizjones June 20, 2015 / 10:19 am

    Thank you so much for your courage and transparency! From my own journey through the “valley of the shadow”, one of the many leassons I have learned is the importance of considered and controlled vulnerability. I know that sounds a bit like paradox, but if more us knew how very much we are not alone, we would be more emotionally available for assistance. I look forward to your blog. Again, thank you for your words of hope and encouragement and comraderie!

    Liked by 1 person

    • dawnlizjones June 20, 2015 / 10:21 am

      PS. Please look into getting on twitter. I would like to RT your page to get more followers. There is a twitter follow button on the wordpress widgets, (or alternatively, I understand if you don’t want to mess with it!!! 🙂

      Like

      • peggyricewi June 20, 2015 / 10:24 am

        I think I would need to read more about Twitter and how to use it. Would it potentially grow my blog?

        Liked by 1 person

      • dawnlizjones June 20, 2015 / 10:57 am

        I think quite a bit. WordPress has put out a short but very informative PDF (or you can download it to kindle) about growing your readership, and with what you have to offer, that would be very valuable. I can send you the link if you are interested. (It’s free!!)

        Liked by 1 person

    • peggyricewi June 20, 2015 / 10:23 am

      I like “considered and controlled vulnerability” – perfect description!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. andih94 June 9, 2015 / 9:58 pm

    Blogging is a great way to get your thoughts to stop swirling around, and sometimes to clarify what you’re thinking. I enjoy your posts. Thanks for sharing your experiences. It’s good for so many reasons. As ME TALKS! said, depression is a common problem so we all have some exposure to it, if not in ourselves then in others. Thank you for sharing. Also as a Christian your blog helps to debunk the idea that the church is somehow immune from these things and that to be a Christian with any kind of mental illness is to have failed somehow. Enjoy your course! I should probably do one too. Just need to get organised…:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • peggyricewi June 9, 2015 / 10:14 pm

      I strongly believe that the church is full of hurting people who need to know that God is with them, even in their mental illness battles. Any way to reduce the stigma of mental illness, and particularly in the church. Thanks for your encouragement.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. kbailey374 June 9, 2015 / 7:54 pm

    Always good to read you, both here and on my own posts! Keep it up girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carol June 9, 2015 / 2:39 pm

    Sounds like a great idea! I encourage my “young” writer’s (you know how young they are) to not be afraid to keep “tweaking” their craft or even the same story, over and over. The only way we improve as writer’s is to keep writing! And I agree with the above commenter about it being great that you share your story. Even it if reaches one person (and it will) you have been exceedingly helpful!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Me Talks! June 9, 2015 / 12:02 pm

    I think it’s better to speak out that have it stored. I’m sure your posts will be helpful to a lot of people. Depression is a very common problem and I think it’s very kind of you to share it with others. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • peggyricewi June 10, 2015 / 8:24 am

      You have lots to share on your blog too! Keep writing – I want to read what you have to say!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.